TRAVEL

Slow britain

Dumfries & Galloway Accommodation

HOTELS

Blackaddie Country House Hotel Blackaddie Road, Sanquhar DG4 6JJ 01659 50270 www.blackaddiehotel.co.uk. There are also two self-catering cottages in the grounds www.nithriverside.cottages.co.uk).

 

Buccleuch & Queensberry Arms Hotel 112 Drumlanrig Street, Thornhill DG3 5LU 01848 323101 www.buccleuchhotel.co.uk

 

Trigony House Hotel Closeburn, Thornhill DG3 5EZ 01848 331211 www.trigonyhotel.co.uk

 

B&BS

Scaurbridge House Penpont, Thornhill DG3 4LX 07763 344176 www.scaurbridgehouse.co.uk 

 

Auchencheyne B&B Moniaive DG3 4EW 01848 200589 www.auchencheyne.co.uk

 

SELF CATERING

See Blackaddie under Hotels above.

See Glenmidge under Camping below.

 

Three Glens House Moniaive DG3 4EG 01848 200589 www.3glens.com 

 

CAMPING AND BOTHYS

Glenmidge Camping and Self-catering Auldgirth DG2 0SW 01387 740328 No website but details can be found on various general camping sites.

 

Burlywhag bothy (grid NS 971 001) and Kettleton bothy (grid NS 912 020)

photography_socialmedia

 

Dalton, Dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain Dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain,  Thornhill Dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain, Mull of Galloway

HOTELS

Annandale Arms High Street, Moffat DG10 9HF 01683 220013  www.annandalearmshotel.co.uk. 

 

Eskdale Hotel Market Place, Langholm DG13 0JH 01387 380357 www.eskdalehotel.co.uk. 

 

B&BS

Guidebook authors also own Summerlea House, Eastgate, Moffat, DG10 9AB 01683 221471 www.moffatbedandbreakfast.co.uk

 

No. 29 Well Street Moffat DG10 9DP 01683 221905 www.moffatbandb.co.uk. 

 

Limetree House Guest House Eastgate, Moffat DG10 9AE 01683 220 001 www.limetreehouse.co.uk. 

 

Cauldholm B&B Beattock, Moffat DG10 9QA 01683 300466  www.moffatcountrysidebedandbreakfast.co.uk. 

 

Nether Boreland B&B Boreland, Lockerbie DG11 2LL 01576 610248  amanda@netherboreland.co.uk www.chariots.org.uk/BandB.html 

 

Waterside Rooms Dornock Brow House, Dornock, Annan DG12 6SX  01461 40232 www.thewatersiderooms.co.uk

 

Byreburnfoot Country House B&B and Cottages Canonbie DG14 0XB 01387 371209 www.byreburnfoot.co.uk

 

SELF CATERING

See Byreburnfoot under B&Bs above.

 

CAMPING AND CARAVANS

Moffat Camping and Caravan Site Hammerlands Moffat DG10 9QL 01683 220436 www.campingandcaravanningclub.co.uk 

 

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park Hoddom, near Lockerbie DG11 1AS 01576 300251 www.hoddomcastle.co.uk

HOTELS

Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel Corsewall Point, Kirkcolm, Stranraer DG9 0QG 01776 853220 www.lighthousehotel.co.uk

 

Knockinaam Lodge Portpatrick DG9 9AD  01776 810471 www.knockinaamlodge.com.

 

 

B&BS

Rickwood House Hotel Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TD 01776 810270 www.portpatrick.me.uk

 

 

SELF CATERING

 

Kirklauchline Holiday Cottage Stoneykirk, Portpatrick DG9 9EE 07824 770968 www.portpatrickholidaycottage.co.uk 

 

 

 

Lighthouse Holiday Cottages The Mull of Galloway Trust, The Mull of Galloway Lighthouse, Drummore DG9 9HP 01776 980090 www.lighthouseholidaycottages.co.uk

 

 

CAMPING AND CARAVANS

New England Bay Caravan Club Site Port Logan, Drummore DG9 9NX 01776 860275 www.caravanclub.co.uk

HOTELS

House o’ Hill Hotel Bargrennan DG8 6RN [tel] 01671 840243 www.houseohill.co.uk. 

 

Kirroughtree House Newton Stewart DG8 6AN 01671 402 141 www.kirroughtreehousehotel.co.uk

 

Whithorn House Hotel St Johns Street, Whithorn DG8 8PE 01988 501081 www.whithornhouse.com

 

The Steam Packet Inn, Harbour Row, Isle of Whithorn,  Dumfries & Galloway,  DG8 8LL,  Scotland 01988 500334 steampacketinn@btconnect.com www.thesteampacketinn.biz

 

B&BS

Glaisnock Café and Guest House 20 South Main Street, Wigtown, DG8 9EH 01988 402249  www.glaisnock.co.uk.  

 

Hillcrest House Maidland Place, Station Road, Wigtown DG8 9EU 01988 402018 www.hillcrest-wigtown.co.uk

 

SELF CATERING

Cairnharrow Cairnhouse Farm, Newton Stewart DG8 9TH 01988 403217 www.cottageguide.co.uk/8914

 

The Pend, George Street, Whithorn DG8 8NS. Privately owned with the bookings handled by National Trust for Scotland 0131 458 0305 www.pend-house.com

 

CAMPING AND BOTHIES

White Laggan bothy (grid NX 467 775) is a short distance from the Southern Uplands Way long distance path close to the remote Loch Dee.

HOTELS

Cally Palace Hotel Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2DL 01557 814341 www.mcmillanhotels.co.uk/cally-palace-hotel

 

The Ship Inn 1 Fleet Street, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2HU 01557 814217 www.theshipinngatehouse.co.uk

 

The Selkirk Arms Hotel High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG 01557 330402 www.selkirkarmshotel.co.uk

 

B&BS

Craigadam Country House Hotel and B&B near Kirkpatrick Durham DG7 3HU 01556 650233 www.craigadam.com 

 

Douglas House 63 Queen Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1HS 01556 503262 www.douglas-house.com

 

SELF CATERING

Glenlee Holiday Houses Glenlee New Galloway DG7 3SF 01644 430212 www.glenlee-holidays.co.uk

 

Loch Ken Galloway Activity Centre, Parton DG7 3NQ 01556 502011 www.lochken.co.uk

 

 

Gelston Castle Holidays Gelston, Castle Douglas DG7 1SW 01556 502211 www.gelstoncastle.com

 

 

Orroland Holiday Cottages Orroland, Dundrennan, Kirkcudbright DG6 4QS 01557 607707 www.orroland.com 

 

The Grange Kirkcudbright DG6 4XG 01557 330519 www.cottageguide.co.uk/gallovidia

 

CAMPING AND CARAVANS

Loch Ken Holiday Park Parton Castle Douglas DG7 3NE 01644 470282 www.lochkenholidaypark.co.uk

 

Lochside Caravan and Camping Lochside Park, Castle Douglas DG7 1EZ 01556 503806 www.dumgal.gov.uk (click on ‘Leisure Facilities’ and then ‘Tourism and Visitor Attractions’).

 

Sandgreen Caravan Park Sandgreen, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2DU 01557 814351 www.sandgreencaravanpark.co.uk

B&BS

Glenaldor House 5 Victoria Terrace, Dumfries DG1 1NL 01387 264248 www.glenaldorhouse.co.uk 

 

Barr Farmhouse The Barr, Amisfield, Dumfries DG1 3LJ 01387 711384 www.barrfarmhouse.co.uk

 

SELF CATERING

Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust Caerlaverock Eastpark Farm, Caerlaverock DG1 4RS 01387 770200 See the Caerlaverock section of the WWT website: www.wwt.org.uk. 

 

CAMPING AND CARAVANS

Barnsoul Caravan Park Shawhead, Dumfries, DG2 9SQ 01557 814351 www.barnsoulcaravanpark.co.uk. 

Below we offer a selection of accommodation options from across the area. Naturally this is far from exhaustive. Rather, these are hand selected places that we have visited ourselves and which we feel fit the Slow ethos of the guide. None has paid to appear in these listings.

 

The full description of our visits to the below properties are found within the published book and at www.bradtguides.com/D&Gsleeps - going live April 2015. More comprehensive accommodation listings are available at www.visitdumfriesandgalloway.co.uk, www.visitsouthwestscotland.com, or by contacting the Visitor Information Centre in Dumfries on 01387 253862.

 

For the more intrepid traveller wanting to truly get off the beaten path, then there are a number of remote bothys across the southern region. If you have never been bothying before the best start point is to imagine it as camping without a tent  - www.mountainbothies.org.uk/locationmap.asp

Chapter 1. ANNANDALE & ESKDALE

Chapter 2. NITHSDALE

Chapter 3. DUMFRIES & THE NITH ESTUARY

Chapter 4. THE STEWARTRY

Chapter 5. THE MACHARS & MOORS

Chapter 6. THE RHINS

Byreburnfoot, dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain BLACKADDIE l-head logo (1) VP Scaurbridge, dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain Craigadam, Dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain Whithorn House, Dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain The Pend, Whithorn, Dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain Rickwood House, Dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain, Portpatrick Kirklauchline, Dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain, Portpatrick Lighthouse Cottages, Dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain, Mull of Galloway Gelston,Dumfries, Galloway, Slow Britain summerlea